Saturday, January 1, 2011

Yifan Hou is the new 2010 World Women's Champion

Yifan Hou won the World Women's Chess Championship thereby becoming the Youngest ever player to win the crown (earlier record was held by Maia Chiburdanidze).

The Final was played between Yifan Hou (who beat Koneru Humpy) and Lufei Ruan (who beat Xue Zhao). The 4 game match was tied at 2-2 and in the Tie-Break, Yifan won the 2nd and 4th games (1st and 3rd were drawn).

The event was held at Hatay, Turkey, from December 2nd to 25th. It was a 64-player knockout tournament, with two-game mini-matches qualifying a player to the next round, until the final and 6th round, which is a four-game match to determine the champion.

Click here to replay the 4th game

Click here to download games in PGN: Regular & Tie-Break
Official Tournament Site
All WWCC reports on
ChessBase & TWIC

Below is a video of Yifan Hou anaysing a game with David Navara at Corus 2009

1 comment:

  1. There is a nice article on Hou Yifan: