Saturday, December 25, 2010

London Chess Classic 2010

Magnus Carlsen won the first place at the 2010 edition of the London Chess Classic.

Though Viswanathan Anand and Luke Mc Shane had tied with Carlsen at 4.5 points after 7 games (also Anand and McShane defeated Carlsen!), Carlsen was declared the winner due to the tiebreak system (greater number of blacks). The sofia system of scoring (3 points for win and 1 point for draw) led to a high percentage of fighting games.

Official Tournament Site
Download games in PGN and a Free Souvenir article in PDF
Reports on
Chessbase and TWIC

No comments:

Post a Comment